Week-26-Project Development: Final Week (Assignment Week)

As the MA draws to a close[ ‘the time has come, the walrus said.’]  I have been working diligently on my FMP presentation. One thing that I found very interesting, is that there are changes and developments on the project even after the exhibition is done. I have reconsidered the order of the images and made a few changes for the assignment compared to the exhibition. Some titles have also changed. Writing the CRoP really made me re-evelute a lot of things. My idea of how the exhibition would go, to how it actually went, is eye-opening, I discovered there is approach even within approach or as Gödel proved;  there are multiple infinities.

I can only presume that any project is a living breathing entity and can only approach completion and will never reach that absolute while the artist is alive or beyond.  This once again makes me cheer and embrace Gödel’s Incompleteness Theorem that proves there is no closure or absolute in anything;  there is only a tendency. I am happy to say, that I am done with absolutes in work and play, and as long as I can approach my dream, enjoy the tendencies of the dream I will have achieved a goal. This leaves the artist with options, a place to go. I began the MA with abstraction, that was deaf and mute, and ended with abstraction that has my own voice. That’s the abstract of it.!

“Is the journey hard?  Yes, till the very end. Will it take long? All day and all night my friend.”    -unknown.

Or in terms of the venacular: – Out of the one forest, into the next!

 

FMP-Bibliography

 

Week 21:

Henrietta Lacks: Skloot, R. (2011). Book Club kit. New York: Broadway.

Goodreads.com. (2019). A quote by Louis Kahn. [online] Available at: https://www.goodreads.com/quotes/1460798-even-a-brick-wants-to-be-something-a-brick-wants [Accessed 5 Nov. 2019].

Week 20:

Keith Carter:   Amazon.com. (2019). Watch The Art of Photography Artist Series | Prime Video. [online] Available at: https://www.amazon.com/The-Artist-Series-Trailer/dp/B01FTEEOK8/ref=cm_cr_arp_d_product_top?ie=UTF8 [Accessed 28 Oct. 2019].

Howard Greenberg Gallery:  Howardgreenberg.com. (2009). Keith Carter – Artists – Howard Greenberg Gallery. [online] Available at: http://www.howardgreenberg.com/artists/keith-carter?view=slider#2 [Accessed 30 Oct. 2019].

Week 15:

Cocteau, J., Buss, R., Bernard, A. and Gauteur, C. (1992). The Art of cinema. London: Boyars.

Dumont Dunes: https://www.blm.gov/visit/dumont-dunes-ohv-area

Charlene Matthews Bindery: http://www.charlenematthews.com

Week 13:

Ralph Eugene Meatyard: https://www.americansuburbx.com/2013/01/ralph-eugene-meatyard-reframing-photography-theory-and-practice-excerpt-2011.html

Week 12:

Fahey/Kline Gallery: http://www.faheykleingallery.com

Maco Ecomat Drying Press: https://www.macodirect.de/en/darkroom/paper-developing/drying/4642/maco-ecomat-professional-dryer-51x65cm

LAAA: https://www.laaa.org

Week 11:

Stephen Gill: https://www.stephengill.co.uk/portfolio/news

* SASTP  Short Attention Span Theatre Patron.

Week 10:

Marc Valesella: http://www.marcvalesella.com/index.html

David Yarrow: https://davidyarrow.photography

John Baldessari: https://www.tate.org.uk/art/artists/john-baldessari-687/lost-art-john-baldessari

Stephen Gill: https://www.stephengill.co.uk/portfolio/news

Week 9:

Hamish Fulton:  Fulton, Hamish (2007). Interview with Peter Lodermeyer for Personal Structure (PDF). Time-Space-Existence. p. 181

Hamish Fulton Tate: https://www.tate.org.uk/art/artists/hamish-fulton-1133

Bowhaus: http://bowhaus.com/index.php4

Weston Gallery Carmel:  https://www.westongallery.com

Ansel Adams Mural Prints: https://shop.anseladams.com/Stehekin_River_Forest_p/1701334102.htm

Anastasia Samoylova:  https://www.anasamoylova.com/about

Week 8:

Getty: http://www.getty.edu/museum/

Residency Art Gallery: http://residencyart.com

George Eliot quote: https://www.brainyquote.com/quotes/george_eliot_161679

Kit White: https://www.amazon.com/101-Things-Learn-Art-School/dp/0262016214

Jan Groth: https://www.contemporaryartdaily.com/2012/09/jan-groth-at-riis/

Week 7:

Ian Hamilton Finlay. https://www.tate.org.uk/art/artists/ian-hamilton-finlay-1093

Concrete Poetry: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Concrete_poetry

Week 6:

The Tree of Life: http://www.abebooks.com

Week 5:

Svema Film: https://filmphotographystore.com/collections/svema-film

Weeks 1-4:

Here is my PK task for the first week:  v=YGwyXHVcPuUhttps://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YGwyXHVcPuU

Week-11-References

Books at Manic. (2019). Richter Overpainted Photos Comprehensive. [online] Available at: https://www.manic.com.au/richter-overpainted-photos-comprehensive.html [Accessed 25 Apr. 2019].

art.com. (2019). The Creation of Adam, c.1510 (detail) Stretched Canvas Print by Michelangelo Buonarroti | Art.com. [online] Available at: https://www.art.com/products/p31141518883-sa-i808736/michelangelo-buonarroti-the-creation-of-adam-c-1510-detail.htm [Accessed 27 Apr. 2019].

Week-9-References

 

Lacphoto.org. (2019). Current Exhibitions | The Los Angeles Center of Photography. [online] Available at: https://lacphoto.org/category/current-exhibitions/ [Accessed 28 Apr. 2019].

In the In-Between. (2019). Corinne Vionnet and the Democratic Snapshot ⋆ In the In-Between. [online] Available at: https://www.inthein-between.com/corinne-vionnet-and-the-democratic-snapshot/ [Accessed 28 Apr. 2019].

 

Week-8-References

References:

Lardner, J., Schillinger, L., Gopnik, A., Tilghman, C., Merwin, W., Bruck, C., Oliver, E., Rafferty, T., Shapiro, F. and Sischy, I. (2019). The New Yorker September 9, 1991 Issue. [online] The New Yorker. Available at: https://www.newyorker.com/magazine/1991/09/09 [Accessed 17 Mar. 2019].

Annenberg Space for Photography. (2019). REFUGEE | Annenberg Space for Photography. [online] Available at: https://www.annenbergphotospace.org/exhibits/refugee/ [Accessed 17 Mar. 2019].

Jack, I. (2019). Can images change history? | Ian Jack. [online] the Guardian. Available at: https://www.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2015/sep/04/images-aylan-kurdi-syria [Accessed 18 Mar. 2019].

Mansurov, N. (2019). The Importance of Ethics in Photography. [online] Photography Life. Available at: https://photographylife.com/the-importance-of-ethics-in-photography [Accessed 17 Mar. 2019].

Week-7-References

 

REXER, L. (2009). The Edge of Vision. New York: The Aperture Foundation Inc..

Nga.gov. (2019). Frederick Sommer in Context. [online] Available at: https://www.nga.gov/collection/photographs/frederick-sommer.html [Accessed 11 Mar. 2019].

YouTube. (2019). Frederick Sommer. [online] Available at: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lmdRZ5eXssw&feature=youtu.be [Accessed 11 Mar. 2019].

John Paul Caponigro – Digital Photography Workshops, DVDs, eBooks. (2019). 13 Great Quotes By Photography Charles Sheeler – John Paul Caponigro – Digital Photography Workshops, DVDs, eBooks. [online] Available at: https://www.johnpaulcaponigro.com/blog/18593/8-great-quotes-photography-charles-sheeler/ [Accessed 11 Mar. 2019].

Sontag, S. (2010). On photography. New York: Picador.

 

Week-5-References

References:

Hammer Museum. (2019). The Bowery in two in… | Martha Rosler | Take It or Leave It digital archive | Hammer Museum. [online] Available at: https://hammer.ucla.edu/take-it-or-leave-it/art/the-bowery-in-two-inadequate-descriptive-systems/ [Accessed 28 Feb. 2019].

The Library of Congress. (2019). About this Collection  | Ansel Adams’s Photographs of Japanese-American Internment at Manzanar  | Digital Collections  | Library of Congress. [online] Available at: https://www.loc.gov/collections/ansel-adams-manzanar/about-this-collection/ [Accessed 28 Feb. 2019].

Bible.oremus.org. (2019). oremus Bible Browser : Genesis 3:19. [online] Available at: http://bible.oremus.org/?version=av&passage=Genesis+3%3A19&fnote=no&show_ref=no&show_adj=no&omithidden=yes [Accessed 28 Feb. 2019]

info@PhotoQuotes.com, H. (2019). Edward Weston – American Artist Photographer – Photography Quotes. [online] Photoquotes.com. Available at: https://www.photoquotes.com/showquotes.aspx?id=51&name=Weston,Edward [Accessed 28 Feb. 2019].

 

Week-4-References

 

References

Martharosler.net. (2019). martha rosler: about the artist. [online] Available at: http://www.martharosler.net/index.html [Accessed 18 Feb. 2019].

Ideas & images from Portsmouth and beyond. (2019). Martha Rosler: “The Bowery In Two Inadequate Descriptive Systems”. [online] Available at: https://johnnyc1959.wordpress.com/2009/03/22/martha-rosler-the-bowery-in-two-inadequate-descriptive-systems/ [Accessed 18 Feb. 2019].

Chriscoekin.com. (2019). Blind Vision : Chris Coekin. [online] Available at: http://www.chriscoekin.com/index.php?/ongoing/blind-vision/ [Accessed 18 Feb. 2019].

KayLynn Deveney Photographer. (2019). The Day to Day Life of Albert Hastings — KayLynn Deveney Photographer. [online] Available at: https://kaylynndeveney.com/the-day-to-day-life-of-albert-hastings [Accessed 18 Feb. 2019].

Ella Rivett: https://flex.falmouth.ac.uk/courses/202/users/900

artnet News. (2019). Patrick Cariou Drops Copyright Lawsuit Against Richard Prince. [online] Available at: https://news.artnet.com/market/patrick-cariou-drops-copyright-lawsuit-against-richard-prince-6257 [Accessed 18 Feb. 2019].

Week-3-References

 

Cassavetes, J. IMDb. (2019). Shadows (1958) – IMDb. [online] Available at: https://www.imdb.com/title/tt0053270/?ref_=nm_flmg_dr_16 [Accessed 14 Feb. 2019].

BARTHES, R. (1981). Camera lucida: reflections on photography. New York, Hill and Wang.

Stacey, W. (2018). Photographs Not Taken. Artron China, Daylight Community Arts Foundation.